Inshore Winter Series Presentation Lunch held 26 August 2018

Fremantle Sailing Club Inshore Winter Series Presentation Lunch 26 August 2018

Correction to Winter Series results

Unfortunately there were several errors in the overall results for the Winter Series.  Updated results as follows, apologies to all the affected Skippers and crews.

Division 1 TCF

1st Gumboot, Paul Huhtala

2nd Dynamic, Laurie Flynne

3rd Panacea, Mick Gillum

Divison 2 TCF

1st Minke, Steve Delfos

2nd Sand Crab’s Disco, Graham Martin

3rd Windswept, Ernie Delfos

Div2  IRC  

1st Windswept, Ernie Delfos

2nd Sand Crab’s Disco, Graham Martin

3rd  Igawa, David Atkinson

Skippers, crew and race officials gathered upstairs at the Club last Sunday for the presentations for the 2018 Inshore Winter Series. We were joined by our special guests Vice Commodore Mike Walker and Rear Commodore Sail Connor Moran.

After attendees had enjoyed their buffet lunch Inshore Captain Brian Cooper summed up the series before commencing the presentations:

“This series we had a total of sixty boats that nominated over eight divisions, with fifty individual yachts presenting themselves to the start team over the five events, an 83% participation rate. Fourteen visiting yachts joined us, slightly down on last year’s entries.  Eighteen boats competed in all five races, a great improvement over seven yachts last year.

The weather gods were slightly kinder this year however we saw a couple of drifters once again and lost two races to the stormy conditions. But, all in all, we fared much better than our Offshore brothers with the Valmadre races reduced by 50%.

The results in all divisions were not quite as close as last year where only one point separated several of the top placings, but the usual rivalry was keen between all crews. Our attempt at introducing Double Handed racing was not supported well enough to introduce this year but we have tested the popularity.

The start crew led by Principal Race Officer, Colin McDougall gave all competitors every chance to complete the courses on each day by shortening early, rather than have half of the yachts run out of time in dying breezes.”

There were fifteen competitors in Division One TCF, with Laurie Flynne’s Dynamic taking first place – a sterling effort as Laurie and Madeline were away for the early part of the season and Dynamic was ably sailed by their crew.  Second was Mick Gillum’s Panacea, maintaining the form they had found in the summer series.  Third place went to visiting RPYC boat, Nicholas White’s Wasabi.

There were also fifteen starters in Division Two TCF.  Graham Martin’s Sand Crab’s Disco took first and Graham collected his trophies with the assistance of three grandchildren (and future crew?).  Second and third place were a family affair with Steve Delfos’s Minke second one point ahead of Ernie Delfos’s Windswept.

Five boats raced in the new Division Two Light TCF category. Jason Poutsma’s Mahjong took first ahead of Bruce Wilkinson’s Turkish Delight with Trevor Taylor’s No Etiquette third.

Division Six (Jib and Main) also had fifteen competitors, many of whom were enjoying the world of no-spinnaker racing over winter before returning to the spinnaker divisions for the summer series. First on handicap was Jaye Martin and John Palmer’s Witchy Woman, ahead of James Halvorsen’s Giddy Up with Ole Otness’s The Longboat in third place.

Fewer boats raced under the IRC handicap and there were insufficient competitors to award trophies in Division Two Light and Division Six (JAM). However, there were enough boats to make a fleet in the other two divisions.

Division One fielded the strongest IRC fleet with eleven eligible boats racing. Laurie Flynne’s Dynamic showed that their first place on performance handicap was no fluke with a first place on IRC as well.  Second was Michael Giles’ Endorfin with Nicholas White’s Wasabi third.

In Division Two eight boats raced on IRC with Sand Crabs Disco taking another first place from Windswept with David Atkinson’s Igawa third (keeping Minke back in fourth place).

Bruce Wilkinson’s Turkish Delight was the best performed IRC boat in Division Two Light, taking first place ahead of Trevor Taylor’s No Etiquette.  Similarly Giddy Up took first from Witchy Woman in the two boat JAM IRC fleet.

Vice Commodore Mike Walker presented the trophies for best performed boats. The Challenger Cup for best boat on TCF handicap was awarded to Jay Martin and John Palmer’s Witchy Woman and the Warne Cup to Laurie Flynne’s Dynamic.

Thanks to all who participated and supported our racing over winter.  Photographs from the season, as shown in the presentation slideshow, are available on OneDrive.  Thanks also to my fellow committee members for my beautiful orchid!

Inshore sailing now takes a short break until the Opening Day race on Sunday October 7 with the first serious race of the season on Saturday 13 October.  The pre-season Inshore Safety Briefing will be held on Wednesday 19 September.  Twilight sailing will commence on Wednesday 7 November.  Watch out for the release of the 2018-2019 Red Book online, printed copies will be available on Opening Day.  See you on the water![/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]

Share this:
previous page