A moderate Northerly breeze and gentle seas brought out a strong fleet of thirty-nine boats across four divisions for the third race of the FSC Inshore Winter Series last Saturday. The strong numbers  saw close racing in all divisions.  Once again Race Control set Course 6 which starts with a beat from Y to B mark off South Mole near Bather’s Beach. Mirko Moeller’s Jedi had an interesting experience after rounding B, when a remote controlled drone narrowly missed their crew and crash landed on their foredeck!

Eleven boats raced in Division One where a close tussle between Endorfin and Alfresco for line honours saw the lead changing multiple times during the race, Endorfin finally getting ahead to be first across the line. However, it was Paul Huthala’s Gumboot IV which took first on performance handicap thirty-seven seconds ahead of Alan Anderson’s Zubenubi after the handicaps were applied.  Laurie Flynne’s Dynamic was third.  On IRC Dynamic was first from Endorfin (incorrectly announced as winner on the day) with Roger Passmore’s Aquila (one second behind on corrected time) in third place.

Twelve boats race in Division Two. Ernie Delfos’s Windswept sailed an impressive race to finish first and fastest on performance handicap ahead of Kim Klaka’s Panache II and George Carter’s Eufarria in third place.  Windswept was also first on IRC ahead of Graham Martin’s Sand Crab’s Disco with David Atkinson’s Igawa third.

Four boats raced in Division Two Lite with Jason Poutsma’s Mahjong taking first on performance handicap from Trevor Taylor’s No Etiquette in second place ahead of Bruce Wilkinson’s Turkish Delight in third. No Etiquette took first on IRC handicap ahead of Turkish Delight with Mirko Moeller’s Jedi third.  Turkish Delight was fastest.

JAM division fielded twelve boats with very different speed characteristics which resulted in the fleet spreading out all over the course. Nevertheless, there was some close racing between individual boats during the race – including a tight battle for fifth place between Pipedream III and Ambience.  Ole Otness’s The Longboat was first on performance handicap ahead of John Palmer’s Witchy Woman (ably helmed by Rebekah Robinson) and Josh Hearse’s Kondili third.  Wayne Pollard’s trimaran Trifle was fastest.  Only three boats raced in JAM IRC with John Palmer’s Witchy Woman first ahead of James Halvorsen’s Giddy Up (also fastest) with The Longboat third.

Rear Commodore Sail Connor Moran officiated at the presentations and we welcomed new Commodore Graeme Allen who presented the pennants and winners’ prize vouchers. Full results are available via the FSC results page or at www.sportspage.com.au.  Thanks as always to our Race Control Crew on Success.  Inshore racing returns with Race 4 on Saturday 14th of July.

Share this:
previous page