Saturday 4 November 2017
The shifting winds in the inner harbour created exciting conditions for the sixteen boats competing in the Fremantle Harbour Classic last Saturday.  After a curtain raiser race – Legends vs Young Guns – between eight SB20s, sixteen inshore and offshore boats raced for the honour of their clubs.

With the offshore fleet otherwise engaged in the RFBYC Roland Smith race, Freo provided half the field with regular inshore competitors Aquila, Minke, Dynamic, The Cro Connection, Witchy Woman, One Goat and The Longboat joined by Southern Star to race against five RPYC boats, and one each from SoPYC, RFBYC and EFYC.

The race is now part of Fremantle Harbour’s Maritime Day festivities and we are grateful to the Harbourmaster and Port Authority for the opportunity to race in a working port.  There are no large shipping movements during the race, but the movements of ferries, small working vessels and private boats add to the challenge.

The course was three laps around a total of six inflatable marks with a downwind start and finish run from Victoria Quay, between A and B sheds, for the benefit of spectators.  Thanks to the multitude of volunteers both on and off water.

A handicap start saw Minke first away and she maintained her lead for two laps of the course before the bigger boats chased her down.  There were two “races within a race” with the three Beneteau 34.7s (FSC’s Dynamic, RPYC’s Wyuna and SoPYC’s Minds Eye) starting on the same handicap as did the S&S 34s (RPYC’s Swagman and RPYC’s Huckleberry).

At the close of racing SoPYC’s Terra took first from Swagman with Dynamic third.  Team SAAB from RFYBC, sailed by Gordon Lucas, was fastest around the course. FSC’s One Goat and RPYC’s Wyuna retired after missing marks of the course.

A knowledgeable and entertaining commentary was provided by Ed Fethers, host of “Let’s Go Sailing” on 91.3FM, “Sam” Samson and our own Brian Cooper.

After the race competitors returned to FSC Clubhouse for presentations and refreshments.


Aquila Roger Passmore FSC
Minke Steve Delfos FSC
Dynamic Laurie Flynne FSC
Cro Connection Peter Kennington FSC
Witchy Woman Jaye Martin FSC
Southern Star Noel Murphy FSC
One Goat Mark Robertshaw FSC
The Longboat Ole Otness FSC
Wyuna Dennis Vincent RPYC
Swagman Andrew Waldby RPYC
Huckleberry Phil Sommerville Ryan RPYC
Terra Simon Plunkett RPYC
Wasabi Nick White RPYC
Minds Eye Peter Bertenshaw SoPYC
Team SAAB Harry Scmidt RFBYC
Turkish Delight Bruce Wilkinson EFYC



Share this:
previous page